Our Purpose

To maintain, market and promote the Tracks Across Borders Byway as a ‘long museum’ over the pathways of the past so that travelers develop an understanding and appreciation of the rich railroad, cultural, historical, recreational, agricultural and natural features of the byway that have endured and continues today. To make navigation easy and match visitor preferences and expectations to the byway itself. Encourage and promote healthy and diverse tourism that helps communities and businesses along the byway thrive.


The Commissioners of the Track Across Borders Byway are made up of industry leaders of businesses along the byway who believe in its purpose.

John Bush – President

John Bush, current President of the TABB Commission is also the President and General Manager of the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad.

Christian Robbins – Vice President – CO

Christian Robbins, current Vice President for Colorado of the TABB Commission is also the Marketing Director of the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.

Clyde Vicenti – Vice President – NM

Clyde Vicenti, current Vice President for New Mexico of the TABB Commission is also the former Cultural Director of the Jicarilla Apache Nation.

Doug Secrist – Treasurer

Doug Secrist, current Treasurer of the TABB Commission is also the former manager of the Navajo Lake State Park in Colorado.

Muriel Eason – Secretary/Acting Executive Director

Muriel Eason, the current Secretary and Acting Executive Director of the TABB Commission is the former President of Pagosa Springs Community Development Corporation and Retired from Intel Corporation.

John Porco – Commissioner

John Porco, a NM Commissioner is also a Friend of the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad.

Carla Martinez – Commissioner

Carla Martinez, a NM Commissioner is also the Branch Manager of the Washington Federal Bank in Chama, NM.

Christopher Madrid – Commissioner / Sandra Maes

Christopher Madrid, an NM Commissioner is also the Economic Development Director for Rio Arriba County. Sandra Maes, an Alternate Commissioner also works for Economic Development for Rio Arriba County as Special Projects Coordinator.

Grace Shepard – Commissioner

Grace Shepard, a CO Commissioner is also the Welcome Center Director for Durango Area Tourism.

Edward Box III – Commissioner

Edward Box III, a CO Commissioner is also the Cultural Director for the Southern Ute Tribe.

Karlee Phippen – Commissioner

Karlee Phippen, an NM Commissioner, is also the owner of the Chama Trails Inn and Log River Ranch Weddings & Events businesses in Chama.